Uptown Dog

Adventures of a not-so-average mutt making new friends in New York City

Trip to the pumpkin patch with Auntie Elle

I have been spending a lot of time with my Auntie Elle lately, because she just got back from living abroad. I love her because she doesn’t skimp on the belly rubs, and she takes me for long walks in the forest near our apartment. She even lets me off the leash so I can sniff whatever I want! That forest is a treasure trove of smells.

In October we celebrated Auntie Elle’s birthday with a trip to the pumpkin patch. My Mom wasn’t sure how I would react to this new place, because in the past I have been very apprehensive around pumpkins. There’s just something suspicious about their lack of expression. And unlike basketballs, which are also orange and round, they don’t roll or bounce. They just sit there waiting for you to let your guard down so they can attack. I’m scared of basketballs too, but at least when they stop moving I can relax for a minute.

After observing pumpkins in their natural environment, I realized they are nothing to be scared of. They look so helpless strewn about in a field with dirt all over them.

Now that I’ve conquered my fear of pumpkins, I don’t have to dread Halloween anymore! Oh wait…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Trip to the pumpkin patch with Auntie Elle

  1. Uptowndog, you are disgustingly cute. Don’t go to NYC!!

  2. Pingback: Hello There 2012 « Uptown Dog

Leave a Reply

