Uptown Dog

Adventures of a not-so-average mutt making new friends in New York City

Dear Esmeralda

I went through tumultuous times when I was a pup. If you haven’t already, you can read about my humble beginnings here.

I left part of my “rags to riches” story out because…well, it’s a little embarrassing. But I saw something that reminded me of this detail, and I felt compelled to share!

Playing with Dad on my first morning at home.

As I mentioned before, a rescue group found me in Atlanta and drove me to an adoption event in Tennessee, which is where Mom found me. What I didn’t explain is that there was a little mix-up along the way. For one day, my name was…Esmeralda!

When I got to Nashville, the adoption folks at Petsmart thought I was a girl, because the rescue group said they were only bringing females. We were to arrive at the adoption event with no time to spare,  so the adoption organization picked out girl names for us while we were en route. Once they realized the mistake, potential adopters were already mingling with us, so it was too late to give me a boy name.

I have always wondered how this mix-up happened. Was the rescue group in such a rush that they didn’t notice I was a boy? Or were they supposed to take a girl dog in my place, but accidentally grabbed me instead? The adoption folks joked that I “grew a pair” on the way from Atlanta, but I’m pretty sure that’s impossible.

I haven’t met any dogs who have my former name, but I just came across one on the Internet. She’s a famous dog too – her mom is Anne Hathaway! And guess what. They live in New York! People Pets spotted her in Fort Greene Park recently:

And here she is on a city hike with her humans. Celeb dogs are just like us!

Esmeralda, I’m not sure if your mom lets you use the computer, but if you see this: I propose a play date. We’ll even come to your turf in Brooklyn. I’m energetic, I have a great sense of humor, and I love to run. Think about it! P.S. – You have a beautiful name.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Dear Esmeralda

  1. I bet you and Esmeralda would have a great time together.

  2. That is a funny story. I can’t believe they never noticed you were a boy! You are one lucky fella- I am so glad your mommy rescued you 🙂
    PS love Anne H!!

  3. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew on said:

    We are so happy to meet you. We figure when things happen like happened to you it is meant to be. Those people were not supposed to notice you are a boy so you could get to your mom and dad and the loving forever home you were meant to be in. Thank you for following our blog. Hugs and nose kisses

  4. I laughed out loud at your comment – I “grew a pair” on the way from Atlanta. 🙂

    Great picture of you on your first morning at home.

  5. Hey dude – cousin Sabrina here. Ouch! That mixup must have been enough to put you on meds! I know what you have been through. My experience wasn’t that traumatic, but when they chop off your tail when you’re a puppy — man that can lead to counseling sessions. Mom and Dad still love me the same. Boy, when I get happy though, my rear quarters get to going and it’s looks like I am moving like one of those famous dancers – Paula or Christina. You get my drift. Well, you are in a good home now. Thank heavens for humans. Well, gotta go. Dad is taking me to get my toenails done at the salon, and then on to Petsmart for treats. Love, your cuz, Sabrina.

    • Hi Sabrina! I am glad that no one thought to crop my tail. When I take a nap I love to curl up with my tail next to my face. It’s like a built-in pillow! Hope you had a nice day out with your dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

