Uptown Dog

Adventures of a not-so-average mutt making new friends in New York City

Chow Hound

Let’s talk about everyone’s favorite time of day: dinnertime!

Some dogs chow down and eat all their food at once. Instead, I like to “graze.” I’ll choose a few morsels of kibble, and then eat them on the couch where Mom and Dad are sitting. Sometimes kibble falls between the couch cushions, or I forget a piece on the carpet. So I always have a snack lying around when I get hungry later. I didn’t plan it that way, but it works out great.

My eating style can be a problem when there are other dogs around. Just because I’m a slow eater doesn’t mean that I’m not hungry, or that I’m not enjoying my food. I try to speed up so no one will steal my kibs, but that’s hard to do when you’re used to eating slowly. It makes my tummy hurt!

I also have this habit of eating treats on the bed. I always get a treat when we come in from a walk, and the bed is just such a comfortable place to rest my tired paws.  I try to clean up when I’m done – I don’t want to waste any of my precious treat! – but inevitably a few tidbits get left behind.

Mom and Dad are never too happy when they crawl into bed and find themselves swaddled in crumbs. Sorry guys, it’s just my style.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Chow Hound

  1. Bexley eats all his kibbles during the day except for two or three, which he saves for bedtime. He stares at his bowl until I hand-feed the last few to him before we go to sleep. It’s the weirdest, but cutest ritual! Love the blog, BTW. Keep it up!

  2. Sam Sellers on said:

    I tend to eat a kibble or two an hour. Sometimes more. One time, I dumped a whole bag over my face. It was raining kibbles! This other time, I went into a dog food store and asked for a sample of one of their finest kibbles. The clerk was like, sir, you are not a dog. I got on my phone to call my lawyer to see if a pet food store was allowed to refuse samples. Bingo. There’s a case on point in Kentucky federal district court. Or wherever. I think my “lawyer” was just making something up. Back to the story: I did not leave the store wondering what the filet mignon-flavored kibble, infused with caramel-brandy mushroom sauce, tasted like. I bought a whole bag.

    • Raining kibbles! That sounds awesome. I can’t blame you for wanting to eat dog food, even though it’s a little unusual for humans to do that. My food is salmon flavored and really quite delicious. But you’ll have to get your own bag!!

  3. I take my treats to my comfortable sofa in the kitchen to eat 🙂

  4. Anita Rezzo on said:

    HI Annie, I just wanted to let you know that I read all of Uptown Dog’s adventures to the Chloe dog. She truly enjoys them.
    Love, Autn ‘Nita

  5. I eat everything as fast as I can and then try to talk my people into giving me treats.

  6. You are one pampered bet, getting a snack everytime you come home from a walk. My dog, Henry, scarfs down his food in under a minute. You’d think he was starving. But he gets treats, too, so I guess he’s pampered, too. 🙂

    • Technically the treat is for…ya know…going to the bathroom outside. Mom started doing that when she potty trained me, and she never stopped. So at first it served a purpose, but now I’m just spoiled!

  7. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew on said:

    I am a slow eater too. I eat a little off and on all through the day. I have a special place in the computer room where I eat my night time snack. I usually eat a little when Mumsy is in the room where my food is. I won’t eat anywhere but where she is so when I get real hungry I go to the room where my food is and I carry a mouthful of my food and eat it in the room where Mumsy is. Don’t worry about those crumbs you leave behind…they are easily cleaned up. Hugs and nose kisses

Leave a Reply

