Uptown Dog

Adventures of a not-so-average mutt making new friends in New York City

Down by the River

When we moved to New York in November, the pedestrian bridge down the street was under construction. We passed it every day on the way to the park, and I couldn’t wait to see where the bridge would lead. Last week, finally, the bridge opened! I practically dragged Mom down the block to check it out.

The bridge takes us over FDR Drive, a very busy highway where cars can travel north and south along the East River. It’s a strange feeling to feel and hear the cars moving beneath my paws at 40 miles per hour. At first it scared me a little, but now I think it’s exciting.

On the other side, there’s a lookout where you can get a bird’s eye view of the river before descending to street level again. It’s a great spot to watch boats going by.

Walking along the river, we can see Roosevelt Island to the east and the Queensboro bridge to the south. So far we’ve walked about 10 blocks south before turning around and heading home. Mom says that when it’s warmer outside, one day we can see how far the path goes!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Down by the River

  1. Wheaton gramma on said:

    I can’t wait to visit and take a walk with you. Until then, your stories make me feel like I’m there!

  2. That looks like and exciting placed to go for a walk.

  3. You’re so lucky to live in New York. I’ve never been, but Cook tells me it’s the, ahem, well, the cat’s pajamas. Whatever that means, but I think it’s good. You know, she’s from there, and loves the city so much, she just wrote a blog about it. Have you seen it? If not, check it out here, http://monicastangledweb.com/2012/01/27/empire-state-o-mine/

  4. That second photo makes me want to be there walking & chatting with you! I’m sure Bella & Beary would love it too.

  5. I agree, love the second pic!

  6. Pingback: Twilight Yappy Hour « Uptown Dog

Leave a Reply

